First Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial All India Hockey Tournament
First Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial All India Hockey tournament was organized at 3BRD AF Chandigarh by Air Force Sports Control Board from May 7-12, 2018. The Technical Direction and monitoring of the tournament was held by Hockey India.
Air Marshal Hemant Sharma, AOC-in-C Maintenance Command inaugurated the Tournament on May 7 at 3 BRD Astroturf ground and that was followed by opening match played between Chandigarh XI and Indian Air Force team. 12 teams from Defence, Para Military, Police & other Civil departments participated in the tournament which was organized on league cum knock out basis.
Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa was the Chief guest during the closing ceremony on May 12. The final match was played between Indian Air Force and Punjab Police. The Punjab Police won the trophy and bagged Rupees 2 Lac cash award apart from individual medals. Indian Air Force received 1.25 Lac cash award as a runner up in the championship.
Olympians Padma Shri Balbir Singh, SS Gill, Gurbaj Singh, Dharamvir Singh and Gurvinder Singh Chandi were among the veteran players who witnessed the final match and later they were felicitated by Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa.
- PRO Chandigarh