Vice Admiral SV Bhokare took over charge as the Commandant of Indian Naval Academy (INA), Ezhimala on October 20, 2016. Vice Admiral SV Bhokare is a specialist in Navigation and Direction and a Graduate of National Defence Academy, Khadakvasla and Defence Services Staff College, Wellington, Tamil Nadu. He attended the Higher Command Course at Army War College, Mhow and holds a Master Degree in Defence and Strategic Studies from Australian Defence College, Canberra.
The officer belongs to the elite submarine arm of the Indian Navy. In his illustrious career spanning 32 years, he commanded three frontline Submarines, INS Sindhughosh, Sindhudhvaj and Sindhushastra, as well as Guided Missile Frigate INS Beas and Submarine base INS Vajrabahu. He has also held various prestigious staff and operational appointments. On being promoted to the rank of Rear Admiral, the officer was appointed as Flag Officer Submarines (FOSM) from September 2012 for three years and Flag Officer Commanding Eastern Fleet (FOCEF) from 2015 onwards. The officer is a recipient of Yudh Seva Medal and was awarded Nao Sena Medal for his distinguished service to the nation.
Vice Admiral SN Ghormade assumed the charge of Director General Naval Operations on October 21, 2016 at the IHQ MoD (N). The Flag Officer was commissioned into the Indian Navy on January 1, 1984. He is a graduate of National Defence Academy (NDA), Khadakwasla, Pune, United States Naval Staff College at Naval War College, Newport, Rhode Island and the Naval War College, Mumbai.
During his career spanning over 32 years, he has been through a myriad of operational and staff appointments. His operational appointments include commands of the Guided Missile Frigate INS Brahmaputra, Submarine Rescue Vessel INS Nireekshak and Minesweeper INS Allepey and second in command of Guided Missile Frigate INS Ganga. Upon promotion to the Flag Rank in 2012, the Flag officer has held the appointments of Assistant Chief of Personnel (Human Resources Development) and Flag Officer Commanding Karnataka Naval Area. Prior taking over as DGNO he was the Flag Officer Commanding Maharashtra Naval Area. The officer is the recipient of the Nau Sena Medal in 2007 by the President of India and Commendation by Chief of Naval Staff in 2000.
- Lt Cdr RG Ajith and Capt DK Sharma